Alone with God

Our generation has forgotten the value of being alone. Do we even know what solitude is? Think about it.

We are a generation that is constantly connected, just a Tweet, Snapchat or Facebook message away.  As someone who has always thought of herself as an extrovert, I never thought I would ever desire to be alone.

Last week I reached a breaking point. As a college student with an overloaded schedule, I’ve reached a point of extreme burnout in my life. I realized I just couldn’t be alone. People are everywhere, constantly bombarding me with texts asking me when I’m free to grab a meal or get some coffee -which makes me feel popular, but really I’m not, I’m just a freshmen RA. Or maybe I am popular… who knows. Anyway, there is a limited amount of white space on my calendar and as it gets filled with more and more people, the less time I have for God and myself.

So, while I was on the verge of a breakdown from being so burnt out, all I wanted to do was run away for a week or something. Realistically, I can’t do that, so I decided to unplug for two hours. I started my stopwatch, turned off my phone, and went for a drive. I realized how much I needed this time alone with God as soon as I left campus. I was driving and talking to God like a crazy lady. There are a million things on my mind right now and no time to process. My sanity had just about gone out the window. I’m realizing I need to be giving God the firsts in my life, including my time.

For too long I have neglected to make God a priority in my life, especially when it comes to my time. Everything we have comes from Him, yet I have not even given Him the time of day. Literally.

Even Jesus had to go spend time in solitude. He would even go up to the top of a mountain by himself and just spend time in prayer (which I really wish I could do right now). If even Jesus needed to spend time with God, think about how badly we need it.

It’s time to stop making excuses and start making changes.

I’m learning the importance of taking a step back in the midst of a busy schedule. I haven’t unplugged for a while and it was refreshing, even though it was only for two hours. It felt like I could breathe again. I was able to process some of my thoughts and not worry about the fast pace of life.

I have this fear that I’m going to let life go by without really taking it in.

God gave me life and I plan on living that out until the day I die. If I don’t start slowing down more often, I’m going to miss it. When you take a step back from the business of life and just listen, the world becomes a little more clear. It’s easy to miss God if you aren’t giving Him the time He deserves. Maybe I sound crazy, but God can speak to you in unique ways.

All you have to do is listen.

I would love to hear your thoughts, comments, or questions!

