You, My Friend, Are Blessed

As I’m sitting here and seeing the anxiety of finals fill the atmosphere, I can’t help but think back this broken community I visited in Costa Rica. My experience continues to put things in perspective. We are blessed.

Halle Overseas

Sometimes I question if it’s possible for us to understand how blessed we are.

I really don’t think I have the capacity to count all of the things that I take for granted on a daily basis. The list is endless. Picture this:

You’re a 16-year-old boy living in one of the most dangerous communities imaginable. You live in small house made of scrap tin barely held together with a few nails and boards. There’s no air-conditioning even though the average temperature is 90 degrees and humid. Not only do you live in this nice little shack, but your family doesn’t own it. It’s actually rented out and it costs your family about $200 to live there each month. How can your family afford to live in such an expensive house? Well, selling her body as a prostitute is one of your mom’s few options for paying this expensive bill…

View original post 1,020 more words

I would love to hear your thoughts, comments, or questions!

